Groove Awards 2016:The Winners


Did you watch the live broadcast on K24TV? Were you at the Safaricom Kasarani stadium? Or were you just following online? Yes, i am talking about the Groove Awards which took place yesterday. It was a thrilling ceremony i gather. Here is the full winners list from Hapa Kenya Blog and a few things that i found gamechanging for the ceremony….

Things to like:

*The extensive use of social media to market the nominees

*The use of different hashtags and not just the usual #GrooveAwards2016. A hashtag that was also in use was #ComeAsYouAre. This ensured more engagement with fans in attendance

*The live broadcast of the show. This was a win for both K24TV and the ceremony

It was a successful, well-markted awards ceremony. Here are the winners:

1. Male Artist Of The Year

LJay Maasai – Winner

2. Female Artist Of The Year

Mercy Masika – Winner

3. Group Of The Year

Kelele Takatifu – Winner

4. New Artist Or Group Of The Year

Mash Mwana – Winner

5. Song Of The Year

Mercy Masika – Nikupendeze – Winner


6. Worship Song Of The Year

Evelyn Wanjiru – Nikufahamu – Winner

7. Reggae Or Ragga Song Of The Year

JFAM & Omari – Wave – Winner

8. Hiphop Song Of The Year

Maluda (Feat. Juliani) – Easy – Winner

9. Album Of The Year

Mercy D. Lai – Emmanuel – Winner

10. Afro-Pop Song Of The Year

Magic Mike & Kris Erroh – Ayaya – Winner

11. East & Central African Artist Of The Year

Christina Shusho – Tanzania – Winner

12. Collabo Of The Year

Everlyne Wanjiru & Vicky Kitonga – Tulia – Winner

13. Video Of The Year

Size 8 – Afadhali Yesu – Winner

14. Gospel Radio Show Of The Year

Gospel Sunday – Milele FM – Winner

15. Radio Presenter Of The Year

Eva Mwalili – Milele FM – Winner

16. DJ Of The Year

Dj Ruff – Winner

17. Talent To Watch

Dj Covenant – Winner

18. Gospel TV Show Of The Year

The Switch – K24 – Winner

19. Song Of The Year Rift Counties

Pst.Samuel Somorei – Ashe Mpapa – Winner

20. Song Of The Year Coastal Counties

Faith Mwikali – Ushindi – Winner

21. Song Of The Year Eastern Counties

Stephen Kasolo – Ngai Niwukilasya – Winner

22. Song Of The Year Western Counties

Timothy Kitui – Njingula – Winner

23. Song Of The Year Central Counties

Phylis Mbuthia – Githe Tiwe – Winner

24. Song Of The Year Nyanza Counties

Fenny Kerubo – Abasani B’ Omusunte – Winner

25. Western Africa Artist Of The Year

Sinach – Nigeria – Winner

26. Southern Africa Artist Of The Year

Joyous Celebration – South Africa – Winner

27. Skiza ringback tone of the Year

Mercy Masika – Mwema – Winner

28. Songwriter of the Year

Pitson – Winner

29. Audio producer of the Year

Saint P – Winner

30. Dance Group of the Year

Jims and Dims – Winner

31. Video producer of the Year

Sammy Dee – Winner

32. Outstanding contributor of the Year

Rap Community